

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: Friday, 13 May 2016

:

Committee:

Young People's Scrutiny Committee

Date: Monday, 23 May 2016

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Shrewsbury/Oswestry Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury,

Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting.

The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter

Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

#### **Members of the Committee**

Joyce Barrow (Chairman)

Peggy Mullock (Vice Chairman)

Andy Boddington

Hannah Fraser

Vince Hunt

Nic Laurens

Kevin Pardy

John Price

Robert Tindall

Kevin Turley

#### Co-opted Members (Voting):

Sue Hudson Diocese of Shrewsbury (RC)
Vacancy Diocese of Hereford (CE)

Vacancy Parent Governor – Secondary Schools

Vacancy Parent Governor – Primary & Special Schools

**Co-opted Members (Non-Voting):** 

Mark Hignett Voluntary and Community Sector

Assembly



# **Substitute Members:**

Charlotte Barnes
Dean Carroll
Peter Cherrington
Roger Evans
Jane MacKenzie

William Parr Arthur Walpole Tina Woodward Paul Wynn

# Your Committee Officer is:

**Tim Ward** Committee Officer Tel: 01743 257713

Email: <a href="mailto:tim.ward@shropshire.gov.uk">tim.ward@shropshire.gov.uk</a>

# **AGENDA**

#### 1 Election of Chairman

To elect a Chairman of the Young People's Scrutiny Committee for the forthcoming municipal year

# 2 Apologies and Substitutions

To receive apologies for absence from Members of the Committee

# 3 Appointment of Vice Chairman

To appoint a Vice - Chairman of the Young People's Scrutiny Committee for the forthcoming municipal year

# 4 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded they must not participate in the discussion or vote on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

### **5 Minutes** (Pages 1 - 6)

The minutes of the last meeting, held on 23 March 2016, are attached for confirmation.

#### 6 Public Question Time

To receive any public questions or petitions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. The deadline for this meeting is 5.00pm on 18 May 2016

#### 7 Members' Question Time

To receive any questions of which Members of the Council have given notice.

Deadline for notification: 5.00pm on 18 May 2016

# **8** Young Health Champions

To receive a presentation from the Shropshire Young Health Champions

## **9** Educational Performance of Disadvantaged Children (Pages 7 - 40)

The report gives details of the educational performance of disadvantaged children in Shropshire

### 10 Unaccompanied Asylum Seekers (Pages 41 - 48)

This report summarises the current position and levels of unaccompanied asylum seeking children in Shropshire social services care

# 11 IRO Annual Report

Report to Follow

## 12 The Future Shape of Education in Shropshire

To receive a presentation from the Director of Children's Services

#### 13 Other Items

To receive a verbal update on the issues re SATS in Shropshire from the Director of Children's Services

#### **14 Work Programme** (Pages 49 - 60)

The current Scrutiny Work Programme and Cabinet Forward Plan are attached.

Members are asked to consider whether there are any other items they wish to be added to the work programme.

### 15 Date of Next Meeting

Members are reminded that the next meeting of the Young People's Scrutiny Committee will be held on Wednesday 20 July 2016 at 10.00am at the Shirehall